Album Review: TV on the Radio – Nine Types of Light

I’m pretty tired tonight, so I’ll make this quick.

“No Future Shock” and “Caffeinated Consciousness” are awesome songs.  The rest of the album is pretty good, but not as special as I would have hoped on the first run through.  If you like TV on the Radio already, this album is just a good addition to their catalog.  I don’t think it will win too many new fans over, though.

The whole thing sounds more like Dear Science than Return to Cookie Mountain, which in my opinion is not a good thing.  But it’s not a bad thing either, I like Dear Science.  It’s just that, ya know, Return to Cookie Mountain is god damn amazing to me.  And much like Dear Science grew on me after several listen throughs, I’m sure Nine Types of Light will as well.  Just my initial opinion is that the new album is less intimate headphone music than it is enjoyable background music while I do Photoshop stuff at work.

7.5 out of 10

One thought on “Album Review: TV on the Radio – Nine Types of Light

Leave a Reply

