Movie Review: Our Idiot Brother

Finally there’s a movie out in theaters about two hippies on an organic farm fighting over a dog named Willie Nelson.  The wait is over!

I don’t really know how I feel about Our Idiot Brother.  It wasn’t really all that funny.  But it wasn’t really very dramatic, either.  It’s just a laid back romp about the life of an aimless slacker, and how he exposes the crappiness in people around him, by innocently blurting out their secrets.  It was actually uncomfortable how mean everyone was to Ned (Paul Rudd), when he’s basically the nicest person in the world.  If there’s one thing this movie does very well, it’s that they made Ned a character you actually care about, while making you care very little about every other character in the process.

But the cast is pretty good, despite the awful nature of the characters.  Everyone seems to perfectly fit into their roles, from Zooey the bisexual indie girl, to Emily Mortimer as the flustered mother, to Elizabeth Banks as the selfish businesswoman.  Could have used more Adam Scott, though.  Every movie could use more Adam Scott.  My least favorite parts were the scenes without Paul Rudd, and my favorite Paul Rudd scenes often involved him bickering with his hippie ex-girlfriend.  There’s just something I absolutely love about two organic farmers who hate conflict attempt to have an argument.  I can watch that all day.

I only laughed heartily a few times during the film, but I did have a steady stream of quiet chuckles throughout.  …I’m actually almost at a complete loss for words about Our Idiot Brother.  It feels like a movie that didn’t need to exist.  I am so incredibly indifferent about it, it’s actually painful for my brain to try to come up with opinions about it.  I in no way hated this movie, but I also have no intentions of ever seeing it again, or recommending it to anybody.

6.5 out of 10

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Our Idiot Brother

Leave a Reply

