My Thoughts on the 84th Academy Awards Nominations

The Academy Award Nominations have been released:

http://www.oscars.org/awards/academyawards/84/nominees.html

Here are my thoughts:

-Overall, 2011 was a shitty year for film.

-This is one of the worst Best Picture categories in years.  Four of the films (Tree of Life [awful], Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, The Help, and War Horse) are various definitions of Oscar bait.  Moneyball and Hugo were decent, but not great.  Midnight in Paris was pretty good, but won’t win.  It really is a race between The Artist and The Descendants, either of which I would be happy if they won.  But the rest of the nominees are kind of wastes of nomination acknowledgement.  No Girl With the Dragon Tattoo?

-Director category is fine, except for Terrence Malick, who IS a great director, but Tree of Life is a huge waste of time.  David Fincher snub.

-Clooney has lock down on Best Actor.  But a Fassbender snub for Shame. Much better than Gary Oldman in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

-I hope the Academy wises up, and picks someone other than Meryl Streep for her comically lame impersonation (not performance) of Thatcher (that’s based on the trailers, I will probably never see The Iron Lady in my life). And don’t give it to Viola Davis for The Help. I thought she just moped around the whole movie and had an overly melodramatic scene at the end as her big moment. Crying shouldn’t guarantee Oscar nominations, people.  Maybe give it to Rooney Mara?  The only person in this category who actually put work into her role?

-It’s awesome that Melissa McCarthy got nominated for Bridesmaids, which she actually has a chance of winning.  But it will probably go to Octavia Spencer for The Help.  I’d be cool with either, because they were both the best parts of their respective movies.

-I think it’s established that Christopher Plummer will win Best Supporting Actor for Beginners (which I still need to see), but it’s pretty cool that Jonah Hill got nominated for a performance that I didn’t think was even that Oscar worthy.  Nice to know 21 Jump Street will have an Academy Award nominated actor in it.  Nick Nolte for Warrior also pretty cool.

-Super disappointed that 50/50 didn’t get a Best Original Screenplay nomination (or any for that matter).  I guess the Academy only has room for a few movies of genuine, non-manipulative  emotion each year.  Gotta make room for the cheese.  This is a pretty interesting category.  I’m sure Midnight in Paris will win, especially with also getting  Best Picture and Director nominations.  Interesting to see Bridesmaids get nominated.  It was basically this year’s Hangover.  I don’t mean that they are similar in plot or comedy style (which they kind of are in some ways, I guess), but more that they were both just that universally accepted R-rated comedy that EVERYBODY saw.  I’m surprised that the Academy finally caved into popular demand for a change, and while I think 50/50 is more genuine a movie than Bridesmaids, I would like to see more movies LIKE Bridesmaids get nominated in the future.  So to Bridesmaids getting a nomination, my official stance is:  50/50 GETS RELEASED ON BLU-RAY AND DVD TODAY, GO BUY/RENT IT!

-Alexander Payne should be picking up another Adapted Screenplay award.

-Rango should win Best Animated Feature, though I wouldn’t be surprised if one of the two foreign animated movies I’ve never heard of win.  I’m just happy Adventures of Tintin didn’t get nominated.

-Drive and Harry Potter got some random technical award noms.  I don’t know if that makes me happy, or angry that this means the Academy actually knows of their existence, but didn’t give them more recognition.  Otherwise it could have been like “Oh, they must not have seen it, that’s why they didn’t give it any credit”.  That’s what I think happened to 50/50.  If you can’t tell, I’m super bitter about 50/50.

-Andy Serkis / Rise of the Apes for Best Visual effects?  I hope Transformers doesn’t steal this, just because I thought Rise was a way better movie.

-No Project Nim for documentary?  I thought everyone loved that film?  The only two documentaries I saw this year were the Morgan Spurlock one, and Knuckle (about Irish bareknuckle boxing, which was awesome).  I plan on watching Senna this week, but that’s totally unrelated as it didn’t get nominated either.

-Man or Muppet WILL win Best Original song. That is so fucking awesome. In fact, the Best Song category is my favorite category this year BY FAR. Just two songs, one obvious winner, then some other random song from Rio. But I especially like it because it casually points out how crappy the Golden Globes’ Best Song nominees list was.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on the 84th Academy Awards Nominations

Leave a Reply

