Movie Review: Source Code

It’s like if Quantum Leap and Groundhog’s Day were doing lines of coke off a Twelve Monkeys DVD.

It’s probably better to know as little as possible going into Source Code as you can.  It’s confusing at first for the protagonist, and I was slightly confused with him for a while.  When it all starts to make sense in the film, it all made sense to me.  That’s part of Source Code’s charm, I suppose, it’s complex but not in an overbearing way.  Much like Inception.  Not too hard to follow along, but still presents some challenging ideas.

I actually liked the message of Source Code, and I’m sure like all science fiction films it can be picked apart to nausea, but I didn’t bother to do that.  Despite one debatably large hole in the end of the film, I actually found myself liking how it all turned out.  I went along for the ride, and I enjoyed it.  And I didn’t have to turn my brain off to enjoy said ride, either.  So thanks for that, Source Code!

Duncan Jones, who directed the underrated 2009 film Moon, is proving himself to be this generation’s sci-fi director to get excited about.  If only he’d cast his father in something soon, I want some Bowie in space!

7.5 out of 10

Leave a Reply

