Movie Review: Drive

So as I was leaving the theater after seeing Drive, I was walking behind this 20-something dude with a backwards baseball hat and a Tap-Out shirt.  I did some harmless eavesdropping, and he said “That was horrible, they should have focused more on the racing part or something.  What was that?  Just awful…”  Buddy, I hear ya.  And by that I mean you’re reenforcing my theory that most people are mindless explosion hounds.  I was happy I didn’t agree with this guy.  Unbearably happy.  I mean, c’mon man, this movie had a ton of great driving sequences, and I don’t even remember how many death scenes there were (and they were all pretty brutal).  And it still wasn’t enough for this schmuck.  I wonder what it looks like inside this guy’s head:


Such beautiful nuance.

I go to a lot of movies.  Like every weekend.  More often than not, the films are constructed in a very standard way.  Shots are rarely used for visual stimulation, but more so as the only option available for moving the story along.  Then there are movies like Drive.  They don’t come along often, but when they do, it’s a welcome change from the mundane.  The camera isn’t a tool for getting things done, but more as a paintbrush on a canvas.  Each shot is a brush stroke that can be observed in its own right, in detail, while still forming the bigger picture.  The final image may be simple, but with open-minded observation, the whole thing becomes so much more by focusing on the smaller elements.  Whoa.  That stuff was deep.

Drive took the time and effort to be unconventional in its approach.  And I appreciate that.  I’m super tired and don’t feel that great, and don’t feel like writing right now, just saying why I’m keeping this short.  Drive was violent and bloody enough that my parents would hate it.  It’s also artsy enough that Johnny Keg-Stand will feel uncomfortable admitting it was good.  “What’s with all these quiet scenes of mood?  Why isn’t he in his stock car?”.

In the year filled with acceptable, yet merely above average films that is 2011, I think Drive is a great work.  My favorite film of the year so far.  Christina Hendricks needs to have a supporting role in every movie.

9 out of 10

One thought on “Movie Review: Drive

Leave a Reply

