Lazy Movie Review: Tucker and Dale vs. Evil

Premise:  A horror-comedy where the hillbillies are the good guys, and the college kids are the bad guys.  The college kids start killing themselves off accidentally and it leads them to believe that the hillbillies are murderous psychos.  It’s basically the Three’s Company of horror comedies.

Pros:

-It’s got laughs a plenty if you enjoy humorously staged death scenes in horror movies (I do).

-The hillbilly leads actually do a good job being lovable characters that I cared about.  And the college kids are so douchey that you have no remorse about them getting killed off.

-I don’t know who this Tyler Labine guy is, but he was annoying in A Good Old Fashioned Orgy, yet pretty good in this movie.  I can’t put my finger on this guy.  I’m sure Firefly fans jizzed their pants at the sight of Alan Tudyk.  (I give him more respectability as Steve the Pirate from Dodgeball)

-I stayed entertained throughout the entire 88 minutes, even if it wasn’t perfect by any means.

Cons:

-The movie comes to a logical ending around the one hour mark.  Then it goes on for about 20 more minutes.  The 20 extra minutes aren’t terrible, but it felt kinda stretched out.

-Katrina Bowden (the secretary from 30 Rock) is attractive, but in an incredibly non-unique way.  And because she’s not a good actress, it feels like they could have pulled any hot chick out of any random club and attempted to make her an actress.

-Dialogue gets kind of shitty at parts, and a lot of jokes seem forced.

-I know it’s a horror comedy, but a lot of the actions of the characters are so unbearably retarded that it takes you out of it.  I understand that its a spoof of dumb college kids in horror movies, but still, it gets even more retarded than usual in some places.  In other words, some of the jokey actions of the characters are so stupid that they aren’t all that funny.

Final Thoughts:  I absolutely love the premise of this movie.  The problem is that the humorous premise could only go on for so long.  And they did a really good job milking it for as long as they could.  Tucker and Dale vs. Evil is a really dumb comedy, but I mean that in the best way.  It’s supposed to be dumb, that’s part of its charm.  I enjoyed this movie, but I don’t think it’s anything to cream your pants over.  I’d say it’s worth watching if you’re a fan of horror movies, that’s the target audience for this.  I don’t know if this means that I’m maturing or something (nah, I just laughed at my own fart a second ago), but this just seems like a movie I would have completely loved if I had seen it back in college.

7 out of 10

Leave a Reply

