Double Feature Review:: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol & Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows


I had myself a double feature this weekend.  I went to see Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (in IMAX) on Saturday afternoon, and quickly followed that up with a screening of Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows.  It was an action packed Saturday, full of mischief and capers!  I figured right now I’d save some time / writing and just review both movies in the same post.  I hope I don’t get them confused or anything because I saw them right after each other.

First off, I’d like to say that both of these movies were on par with the level of action films that were released in the summer time.  I’ve only previously seen the first Mission Impossible film, and have never seen either of the previous sequels.  Sherlock Holmes however had a great recent original from a couple of years ago, so my expectations were actually high for this new film.  After seeing the film however, Tom Cruise and company certainly beat all expectations I had for it, as the action scenes were definitely full edge of your seat moments that built up to great results in almost every case.  Going through the first half of the film was kind of a chore though, in my opinion, as I wasn’t all that riveted by the plot layout as Holmes was establishing his new villain.  Only in the second half does it get really good.  At that point the four agents are in full on world saving mode trying to retrieve their nuclear codes.  The first half character development was top-notch for the most part, as the two detectives had even better chemistry than they did in the first film.  It was a good outing for a Cruise revival, as he hasn’t been in a good film for some time.  And we all know about his wacky issues of the past, with the drug arrests and such, luckily Sherlock Holmes and Iron Man have made him an international icon once again.  Overall I was pretty riveted throughout the entire film, especially the world’s tallest building infiltrating.  I was completely immersed in the film as the cannon fire was ripping through the trees, one of the best action sequences of the year by far.  Watching the game of cat and mouse was pretty great, especially with that gypsy using a magnet suit to navigate a computer tunnel.  I mean it was just such a well planned execution of a train sequence, Tom Cruise has never looked funnier than when he’s in drag.  My only question is why would Moriarty want nuclear codes, I don’t even think he had the means to use them?  Lucky for the good guys, Sherlock invented those sticky gloves so he could climb that building in time to do something about it, even while in Shadow Protocol.  Jude Law was also really great as Brandt.  My head hurts and I’m tired.

Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol  – 8 out of 10

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows – 6.5 out of 10

Holmes Impossible: A Sherlock Protocol – 7.5 out of 10

3 thoughts on “Double Feature Review:: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol & Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows

Leave a Reply

